What size propane tank?

Hi I’m new to forging and have a small two burner forge just to start myself off, what size bottle should I go for? Forge is to be delivered so have no idea what size bottle I should go for, can’t really afford trail and error…

Sent from my iPhone using Blacksmith Forums Mobile App

Just get the biggest one you can afford. They’re not terribly expensive. I bought a 100lb tank from lowes for like 130.00 But when I first started I used a small 15lb tank. The small one will last longer than you think.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I have been playing around with this for only a couple of months but I just use small 20 pound bottles because its the easiest to get and they work fine.

Just make sure you have a regulator that you can adjust.

Thanks guys didn’t want to get half way through something and have it run out! Thanks for the info

Sent from my iPhone using Blacksmith Forums

+1 on the 100# tank. When I get mine refilled where I go I always make sure I get the one guy thete who trily understands how the tank can/should be filled. When he fills, I can run my forge 6-8 hrs a day at forge weld tempsbfor a month or better. When the ither guys there fill my tank…2, maybe 2.5 weeks.