Want to get started

Hi, new member here. Jeff, 29, from Michigan.

I’d like to start out by saying that blacksmithing has always intrigued me, however I’ve never done anything with it. I am a design engineer and I operate CAD programs daily, so I know how to design stuff but I’d like to pick something up as a hobby such as smithing.

With that said, I have no idea where I’d even start with this! Lol. I see that anvils are not cheap by any means and there are a lot of different types of forges.

For someone interested in pursuing smithing, I’d like to hear some advice from the community on here as far as what I should do to get started. Would it be ok to start out with a “cheap” anvil so to speak, to see if I like it once I get started? Also, are there starter kits available that won’t cost me an arm and a leg?

Hey Jeff I was trying to do the same and came across Whitlox forges they have one for around 150 dollars and a blower for about 135 and can’t really help you on the anvils I hoped this helped

Sent from my iPhone using Blacksmith Forums

Hi Jeff and welcome to your new addiction! I started my little addiction with reading about it and finding webpages and forums like this one and a bunch on Facebook. With that being said my very first forge was a lawn mower deck flipped over and a firepot in the hole. The reason for that was I wasn’t sure if I would like it (which was a lie I fell in love with it) and secondly it was free cause I found all the stuff I needed on trash night. As far as my first anvil I bought at the scrapyard for like 25$ it was a bug hunk of steel. The hammers I found in the pawn shop for a few bucks. And that’s about all you need too get started. And the blower for the forge was a hair dryer for 2$ at the thrift store.

Sent from my RCT6873W42 using Blacksmith Forums Mobile App

That is true rich as far as the anvil goes. You really don’t need an anvil just an anvil shaped object.

youtu.be/SHWd0bMVSOU