Striking Anvils

Hey everyone,

I’m new here and I’m looking to start a small business supplying cheaper, quality anvils and tools. I am testing this industry with a simple yet pivotal part of every smiths shop, his anvil. Below are the specifications of the striking anvils, I am also looking at making a solid stand as well so there is no need to scrounge around for a stump or craft your own base for the anvil. The anvils are made from A36 steel plate, non-hardened, they will have a waterjet cut 1 inch hardy hole and they will be selling for $150 each. Still designing the stand for these so I don’t have a price for them yet, but the legs will be pre-filled with a sand/oil mixture to deaden the sound and vibration. If you want a stand we will weld it to the base to eliminate the need for that step.

I am a blacksmith hobbyist myself and I have looked online for something like this for a while now and never found them so I figured I would try and supply. It is so hard to find a quality striking face for beginner blacksmiths or hobby blacksmiths.

Please leave me feedback, I can change anything about these anvils right now, as I am in the planning phase of this still. Constructive feedback is highly appreciated. With my metal supplier right next door to my shop I can get these cut and shipped in a week.

Striking Anvil

A36 Steel Plate

12 inches long X 5 inches wide X 2.5 inches thick

Thank for your time.

Clarification, I will only be selling and shipping these within the united states.

Do you have a pic of one completed?

Have a look at Alec Steele’s YouTube striking anvil videos. It tells you everything you need to know. I used one in Sydney to make a hammer at Eveleighworks. Here it is in action youtu.be/yJWpDOGCmms. It is really important to bolt them to the floor.

Sent from my iPad using Blacksmith Forums