New member? Read here.

Introduce yourself by telling us a little about yourself! Post a new topic, the subject can be anything like “Hello from Minnesota!” or “Glad I found this place”.

Here are some questions you can use for a template:

Where do you live?
How did you get started?
How long have you been in the craft?
What has been your most proud project to date?

Welcome to Blacksmith Forums!

1 Like

Hi from canada. I am from ontario. Really happy I found this place.

Hey everyone, I’m very new to this craft but I hope with a little practice to be forging my own blades soon!

Hello from Iowa! Just starting out and very glad to have joined here. Seems to be a place of good company and just the right amount of bull. Just found out about the app, hope the new one is up and running soon! Thank you for all of this guys and gals, take care

Hi from South Africa

Sent from my 2014817 using Tapatalk

Hello chaps, Uhtred from Dorset, England. Very new to this, in the process of making an anvil and a forge. Did some forging with an ‘oppo recently.

Hello, I stopped in to get some advice please. My late husband had a beautiful anvil. Very old. I think it weighs 200 pounds. I’ve used the anvil several times and it has a lovely ring to it. It is strapped to a huge chunk of wood which puts it at a decent working height. Daughter is talking about selling the anvil and I adivsed her to not sell it too cheaply. Can someone advise me as to the current value/price for an old anvil? The anvil is currently in storage but I can drive there (100 miles) and take photos and look for a maker’s mark and do a ball berring drop test if it would help. What else should I look for that would be helpful in a description to the buyer. Thanks.

@greene33 Makers mark would help, a Hay Budden is typically worth more than a Vulcan, for example. It sounds like it’s quite a far way away (100 miles) but when you are in that area I would snap some photos.