Leg Vise tool rack!

I made a quick tool rack around my leg vise this weekend. It freed up my other tool rack… which was severely needed to be “retired” (aka, cut down).

What I did to make it was just take some measurements around the vise, give enough room for a two inch gap between some 3/8" bar and the vise, and then welded it on. Pretty easily done, I’d say it took me about 30 minutes all said and done.

I am really happy with it and I think it adds a lot of character to a once lonely vise.

Very nice! I’ve been a carpenter for years and a woodturner most of that, but there is something about a full rack of smith’s tools that just has that extra something…I don’t know if it’s the shear number, or the controlled chaos, but they sure look good!

looks great :slight_smile: yeah you cant beat a full tool rack! and all close to hand :wink:

Hey Grant,
i like it! If you would, what did use for post on the box vise? I bought a used beast of one, 126 lbs, 7’ wide jaws out of Canada. I don’t want to mount to my welding bench if possible. It has the standard 4 bolt mounting ear. Freestanding will work better in my limited space shop.

Hey @63steward, I belive it’s a 1/4" thick piece of 5" round pipe. I purchased this already mounted at an auction - it’s dang heavy and doesn’t ring so I’m guessing they filled the pipe cavity with sand.

The post is welded to a 1/2" thick round place that measures about 36".

I wouldn’t put it on your welding bench - I find myself coming at the steel from all angles when I put it in the vise, putting it on a welding bench would reduce the angles that you could get at it. Plus, like you said, free standing you can shove away :slight_smile:

Hi Grant,
I had the very same thought, I already have a bench vise and bench grinder on two corners of my 4’ x 8’ steel table. Even those can be in the way. Also figured I’d want to get to this leg vice from all sides.