Gas or coal for starting out

Hi all, just starting out with blacksmithing. My grandfather was a Smith and so i kinda want to keep things traditional. I have many years experience in engineering and plan to start simple learning the basic skills first work my way up from there but ultimately would like to be able to forge weld and make knives and swords. So my question is should I get a gas forge or a coal/coke forge? If coal then I will build it myself. Like I said I would like keep it traditional but if gas is generally considered better I would go that route, but are gas forges good for general smithing? Are they restricted for size? Can you get bigger items in? Is coal more difficult to get started with? I will buy m ake a forge i can use for years so wont go for a starter set. All responses very welcome.

Gas is easier, especially for beginners, but coal/coke does have it’s place too. I would say this boils down to location and budget. Building a gas forge isn’t as difficult as you may think it is, I would say actually building a coal/coke forge is just about the same skill.

The first question I have for you is where do you plan on setting up? If inside, then the coal forge will require a hood to vent out the smoke. The gas forge produces a large amount of CO so you’ll also want to be sure that it gets proper air flow/ventilation.

To answer your questions:

Gas forges are great for general smithing, what you don’t get with a gas forge is localized heating. You can build a coal forge and your firepot to accommodate the size of the metal you want to heat. Also, in a coal forge, metal gets up to temperature much quicker when you are familiar with how to manage a coal fire.

Both gas and coal forges can restrict size, the different is with a coal is often times you’re able to fit the piece into the fire somehow, with a gas forge you sometimes simply can’t fit it in at all.