Can someone experienced help me?

Hello!
My question is: can I get away with using this random 1"x2" bar stock clamped to the top of this wood stove as an anvil/work surface? The top of the stove is aprox. 3/8" thick plate.

I am just starting out and wanting to blacksmith. I will only be focusing on smaller items such as nails, hooks, bottle openers, small things to practice the craft, etc. No Viking battle axes or fancy iron scroll gates yet. So no worries about holding up under pressure, just inquiring as to see if this is wise or not from experienced blacksmiths and if someone has a better solution that they might see for my situation.

Thank you in advance!
Sneezy

The tapered feet of the stove are the weakest point. They will musroom, or drive into the concrete causing cracks.

Good point! No pun intended. Would sandwiching the legs with angle iron and a 4"x4" of 3/8" plate under each foot be enough? What other potential problems could there be? Concave the top?

I would put that flat bar on a big log or post if available. Just cause if you miss and hit the stove you will damage it as well as the sound would be deafening on a hollow stove.

Thank you! I can imagine the noise, I planned on wearing hearing protection. Unfortunately I do not believe I have any post, or log to mount to. I will go take a better look out in one of my buildings, but chances are slim.

Sn33zus is right, although it may make seem like it’d be good with the weight/size of that stove, you’re gonna be better off getting a stump and having the piece on that.

If I were you I’d get a log that is about 4/5 the size of the steel, drive a large (largest that will fit) nail into that back hole into the log, put a couple more nails on either side just to prevent the plate from spinning/moving when hitting, and have 1/5 of that piece overhang the log. (might take some testing with the balance of the log and overhang). You’ll want the over hang.