brake drum forge

I am working on getting the parts together to make a cheap forge using a push mower deck and brake drum from a car, complete with a hair dryer for the blower. Has anyone here tried making one of these and if so how did it go? Any advise would be appreciated. I am new to blacksmithing and funds are very limited, but I really want to get started. Thanks.

Hey Valnut! Welcome!

I haven’t tried a brake drum forge - I started out with using gas and 1 brick forge (found in the $50 Knife Shop book by Wayne Goddard.

However, I’ve seen quite a few of these done before.

Have you gotten any of the materials yet?

I took the motor and handle off an old push mower I have. The deck is used as the forge and the handle comes into two even pieces for the legs. That’s all I have right now. I’m thinking a brake drum shouldn’t be very hard to find, but not sure about the T pipe. A friend stopped by Saturday and said he knows a guy he could possibly get an anvil from cheap, that would be really nice. Once I get the parts together and get them wielded up I may post a pic on here to let everyone have a look at the forge.

I also heard you can use regular charcoal, is this true? I hear that it takes about 4 times the amount, but will work…I also heard that it may not burn hot enough, so not sure which way to go there. Thanks for the reply and the welcome.

Charcoal will work but it’s output isn’t as great as coal. Years ago I had a forge made from scrap metal powered with a hair drier that worked great. I used charcoal mixed with bits of coal that I found while walking along the rail lines. Lots of work looking for bits of coal but hey… it was free!

Thanks for the info. When I get all the parts together I guess I’ll check out coal prices around here and look into my options. May use charcoal for a while. At the moment just getting the parts to build the forge is moving slowly.

I have built a brake drum forge for my father it worked exceptionally well for us.